Topic

Heading out with some non-UL folks…..gulp…..

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Heading out with some non-UL folks…..gulp…..

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 198 total)
  • Author
    Jennifer Mitol
    Spectator

@jenmitol

Locale: In my dreams....

HYOH and all……

I’m heading out to Big Bend with a seasoned UL-er (my JMT companion from a few years ago), 2 total noobs (who are eager to learn), and a heavyweight BP-er who thinks she’s the bomb.

It’s taken everything I have to get out of sharing her 6-man Eureka tent – but I did.

She wants someone to carry the 3-pound expedition first aid kit for us all to share.

Now she is pushing that we all carry hand-held radios (which won’t work in the undulating terrain of Big Bend anyway).

Part of me was OK with her bringing all this crap, because I’m the slow fat one in the group – so load them up to slow them down – amiright?! – but sheesh!

how do I tactfully get someone to let ME hike MY own hike??  especially when it’s MY trip??!!  having serious regrets of saying yes to her request to join us (we’re all colleagues)….

JCH
    BPL Member

@pastyj-2-2

Honesty is the only thing that may work, and is almost definitely the only thing that will make you feel good.  It won’t be fun conversation, to start, but it may end well.  And if it doesn’t perhaps bowing out of the trip is warranted.  Just my opinion.

edit: just realized you said is was *your* trip, so bowing out is probably not possible.  Sounds like an unfortunate spot to be in given that you work with this person. Hope this works out for you.

Michelle B
    BPL Member

@mbracht

If you showed her a picture of what I look like after my first solo venture on the CDT carrying  A 72 pound backpack she would probably stay home. LOL