Topic

stove for winter

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Winter Hiking stove for winter

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 124 total)
  • Author
    Ralph Burgess
    BPL Member

@ralphbge

Diane started a recent thread on water carry in winter, that I have found really helpful.

http://backpackinglight.com/forums/topic/water-carry-in-winter/

As an inexperienced winter hiker, another area where I feel like I don’t have a lot of leeway to learn from my mistakes is the choice of stove. Ā  In summer, a failed stove just means cold dinner, but in winter it may be the only water source. Ā Could some of the experts on in give some advice and ideas? Ā  I generally use a Jetboil, and I have little experience with anything other than isopropane canister systems. Ā First of all, what are the temperature limits of an upright isopropane cansister system, and what measures might you adopt if close to the limit? Ā  What is the bestĀ stoveĀ for colder temperatures if the prioirty is reliability and simplicity (i.e. setting aside weight saving concerns for now)?

Ken Thompson
    BPL Member

@here

Locale: Right there

What are the coldest temps you expect to experience?

Jerry Adams
    BPL Member

@retiredjerry

Locale: Oregon and Washington

upright good down to 30 F, maybe 25 F – assuming you have iso-butane – all stoves are pretty much the same, it’s a property of the fuel. Ā There’s usually some propane in the mix which helps, especially when the canister is close to full.

the problem is that the fuel evaporates inside the canister which makes it colder, so it slows way down

inverted stove good much colder, I forget the minimum temp, maybe 10 F or 0 F

Roger has sold a good stove in the past. Ā There are brands like Kovea Spider.

fuel doesn’t evaporate inside canister making it colder, except for a tiny amount to offset the liquid that leaves the canister.