Topic

Cheap, lightish two person tent for the tall?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Cheap, lightish two person tent for the tall?

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 32 total)
  • Author
    Brett Peugh
    BPL Member

@bpeugh

Locale: Midwest

Looking for a cheap light-ish freestanding two person tent that might fit a 6’5″ person.  Any suggestions?  Thank you.

Ken Thompson
    BPL Member

@here

Locale: Right there
    Brett Peugh
    BPL Member

@bpeugh

Most of those are around $300+ or not free standing.

Martin Farrent
    BPL Member

@martinfarrent

If you want something cheap, not wildly heavy and fairly well regarded by those who own them, you could look at Decathlon tents from France – specifically the Quick Hikers.

I have no experience with them and don’t know whether shipping/customs would be prohibitively expensive… but for what it’s worth: https://www.decathlon.co.uk/C-359132-2-man-tents

Roger Caffin
    BPL Member

@rcaffin

Locale: Wollemi & Kosciusko NPs, Europe

I think Decathalon are a retailer, not a mfr. They sell Quechua tents, like this one:

No further comment needed.

EDIT:
    I stand corrected, thank you Franco. I had heard of Quechua, but not Decathalon. Well, well.

I note that they list tents for ‘Mild weather’ and ‘Warm weather’, but not anything else that I can see. On the other hand, they do sell ski touring gear, including house brand! Could be interesting.

I see they closed their last store in the USA in 2006 – I wonder what went wrong there?

Cheers

Martin Farrent
    BPL Member

@martinfarrent

@rcaffin