Topic

Freestanding Trekking Pole Supported Tent / Shelter

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Freestanding Trekking Pole Supported Tent / Shelter

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Craig B
    BPL Member

@kurogane

Introduction

I’ve used shelters with traditional poles for most of my life, and only within the last few years discovered the whole ultralight movement.  Part of that discovery involved buying a Z-Packs hexamid solo-plus about 5 years ago.  I was stunned that a ‘tent’ could weigh close to 1 Lb vs the 5.5 Lb 2-person monstrosity I had been lugging around for the last 20 years.

I was super excited about it.  Having used it now for 4 years, I’ve decided it’s not worth the weight savings to me as is.  There are several things about it that I don’t like, but I realized on my last trip that the deal breaker for me is the 6 minimum/10 recommended stakes required to pitch it.  It’s not the weight of the stakes, but the act of driving them into the ground that kills me.