Topic

Does a Sawyer Mini lose its effectiveness over time?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Does a Sawyer Mini lose its effectiveness over time?

Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    Monte Masterson
    BPL Member

@septimius

Locale: Southern Indiana

I’ve been filtering with a Sawyer Mini for at least 4 years now and I always make sure to back flush after each use. Sawyer’s advertising says “good for a million uses”, but I’m skeptical. So this might sound like a stupid question, however does the filter lose its effectiveness after awhile? I’d sure hate to get sick. Thanks.

Jon Fong / Flat Cat Gear
    BPL Member

@jonfong

Locale: FLAT CAT GEAR

With effectiveness, I assume that you mean will it filter out the same particulate sizes.  The answer is yes.  What happens is debris will build up on your filters.  Classically, this makes your filter better as it creates a labyrinth for particles to get trapped in.  As the labyrinth grows, your flow rate will tend to diminish as well.  My 2 cents.

Jerry Adams
    BPL Member

@retiredjerry

Locale: Oregon and Washington

or, just one event of leaving hard water in the filter will plug it up

that could be when you first bought it, or after years of use

it’s not like it gets used up over time until it gets full and you then have to discard

Monte Masterson
    BPL Member

@septimius

Yes, when I refer to effectiveness I mean ability to filter out pathogens. I’ve never had any issues with my Mini clogging or slowing down. Like I said, I back flush after every use and I’ve been filtering water with a good PH.

Marty Cochran
    BPL Member

@mcochran77

Locale: Southern Oregon

I like to replace my filters yearly and consider the Mini’s lifespan to be about 100 gallons then it filters to slow to be useful.

Todd T
    BPL Member

@texasbb

Locale: Pacific Northwest