Topic

Tiny dense calorie brick

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Food, Hydration, and Nutrition Tiny dense calorie brick

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 41 total)
  • Author
    chris smead
    BPL Member

@hamsterfish

Locale: San Jose, CA

I used to bring these energy bars called belly timber for breakfast. Over 300 calories, but about half the size of a candy bar.
    Downside is they didn't taste that great, were hard to chew, and now discontinued.

With those and other carefully picked items I was able to cram 9 days of food into a bearikade weekender.

Anyone else know of a replacement? Just needs to be tiny and calorie dense. I can deal with bad flavor/consistency.

I've read about homemade alternatives like Logan bread….but I'm a horrible cook. I even mess up mountain house half the time.

Marc Shea
    BPL Member

@flytepacker

Locale: Cascades
    Greg Mihalik
    Spectator

@greg23

Locale: Colorado

"I used to bring these energy bars called belly timber for breakfast. Over 300 calories…"

Unless we also know the weight, to calculate calories per ounce, it will be hard to know if something is better or not.

After that is the question of carb/protein/fat ratio.

It's hard to hit a target if you can't see it.

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

It is possible to come up with a food item that is extremely calorie-dense. However, it might be indigestible.

I stick with items that I know will work in my system. I can go a long way on dilute Gatorade, Logan Bread, and Swiss Cheese.

–B.G.–

David Ure

@familyguy

Christopher, have you considered Probars? The Superfood Slam bar is 380 calories and weighs 85g

http://shop.theprobar.com/Superfood-Slam-Meal-Bar-sleeve-of-12-bars

Gary Dunckel
    BPL Member

@zia-grill-guy

Locale: Boulder