Topic

Bad experience with Jetboil

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Bad experience with Jetboil

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 97 total)
  • Author
    K C
    BPL Member

@kalebc

Locale: South West

I have had a very bad experience with Jetboil.
    I recently took my Jetboil Sumo Titanium cooking system on a trip this summer to AK.

During the trip I noticed that one of fins on the fluxring had come unbonded, I have 15 years backpacking experience and I did not misuse it, boil it empty overheat it.

I emailed Jetboil and got an RA number, I did make the mistake of not reading through the entire email and just got the RA number and sent it in. I got an email back stating that they were not going to cover it under warranty due to mis-use/neglect. They said the cup was either burned dry or boiled empty.

They kept my Titanium Sumo cup and offered me a coupon to buy another one for $75.39

So I spent $7.00 to send in a $189.95 product back for repair/replacement and ended up with nothing…..

BPL community beware!

Max Dilthey
    Spectator

@mdilthey

Locale: MaxTheCyclist.com

These posts always crush me. You guys need to learn how to argue over the phone!

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

"So I spent $7.00 to send in a $189.95 product back for repair/replacement and ended up with nothing….."

1. Nothing? They offered you a coupon. If nothing else, you got an education.
    2. Always remember to read the fine print.

–B.G.–

Serge Giachetti
    Spectator

@sgiachetti

Locale: Boulder, CO

Jetboil went out of there way to help me with an issue I had with my stove. The replaced it for free, with the updated version. Then when my old pot didn't lock with the new stove, they quickly replaced my pot at no charge. Flawless customer service.