Topic

Steripen Freedom Questions

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Steripen Freedom Questions

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 31 total)
  • Author
    Brad Rogers
    BPL Member

@mocs123

Locale: Southeast Tennessee

Does anyone here use the Steripen Freedom? Does it work with Gatorade Bottles? If not, what is the lightest bottle that is compatible? Has anyone had any failures? I tried a Steripen in 2009 and it failed at temps in the teens, not to mention it drained the battery when stored, but I have heard they have fixed that.

I have been using Aquamira Drops (repackaged) since 2008 but I thought it might be time to revisit what is out there today.

Billy Ray
    Spectator

@rosyfinch

Locale: the mountains

REI has a video that show the freedom fitting inside a wine glass so I think it will fit into a gaitor aid bottle…

http://www.rei.com/product/824898/steripen-freedom-water-purifier#video-inner

Buy it at REI… if you don't like it.. return it…

b

Philip Tschersich
    BPL Member

@philip-ak

Locale: Kodiak Alaska

I have one. I got it this spring because a lot of my electronic gear is no rechargeable via a 5v USB plug system. This seemed to fit the bill nicely. I charged it and tested on a few liters at home and then took it on my most recent trip. It worked fine for the first liter of water, but during the next use it gave me the "one-green, 3-red flash, repeating" LED error code, which is "UV lamp failure, replace lamp" problem. So the lamp which is supposed to last 8,000 hours is acting like it has issues after less than 5 minutes of total use. I tried recharging it in the field but that was not the issue. I carried the useless thing on the rest of my trip. Luckily I live in a place where finding good water is not an issue. Back home it kept acting poorly, but then randomly decided to work again once.