Topic

Whats the best way to stay dry in the rain

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Whats the best way to stay dry in the rain

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 52 total)
  • Author
    Andy Anderson
    BPL Member

@ianders

Locale: Southeast

I was in the Smokies over the weekend and had a steady rain from midnight on Saturday night and all day Sunday. I managed to stay dry in my SMD Wild Oasis, but soaked through my rain gear on the hike out and boat ride back to the car. I've started looking into ponchos because it will cover my pack also. I seems like silnylon will keep you dry, but somehow the moisture comes through. I have no experience with cuben fiber but wonder if a cuben fiber poncho would be the best bet? I actually took my tyvek ground sheet and cut a head hole in it and used it as a poncho on the hike out.

Ben C
    BPL Member

@alexdrewreed

Locale: Kentucky

I just don't think there is any way to stay dry on those days. The water you had through your silnylon poncho was probably condensation. I have have had the exact same thing happen in the Smokies. I don't think cuben will help on condensation.

Bob Bankhead
    BPL Member

@wandering_bob

Locale: Oregon, USA

Stay indoors by the fireplace;- while factual, admittedly not relevant to the person trudging along a wet, muddy path through the falling rain trying to maintain a positive attitude about the wisdom of their decision to go hiking that day.

Living here in Oregon (aka the southern end of the Pacific rainforest) makes me agree with Ben's reply that it is not possible to both backpack and stay dry during multi-day, continuous rainfall. You will get wet; just accept it and go on, hunker down and stay put, or get out. The idea is to minimize the discomfort and to avoid hypothermia.