Topic

New to lightweight backpacking

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists New to lightweight backpacking

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 31 total)
  • Author
    Ryan C
    BPL Member

@radio_guy

Locale: United States

Hello all,

This is my first post to the BPL forums. I have lingered for a while and figure it was time to jump in. Forgive me if this is long winded.

I am new to backpacking and am trying to get started right by going light. Since I am new, going Extreme SUL is probably not a great idea but maybe in the future.

What I need is input on my gear list. I live in the boring Midwestern USA but will probably be taking trips out west (Grand Canyon) and trips in the Appalachian mountains. I have sought out gear that is best suited overall for different climates and conditions.

A shelter has not been purchased yet but I am considering either a Tarptent Moment or a SMD Gatewood Cape with the Serenity Net Tent.

All gear was weighed on a small digital scale.

Gear in pack Weight (oz)

Osprey Exos 46 Pack 37
    Tarptent Moment 29
    W.M. Summerlite, 32 deg. 21
    Thermarest Neoair, size R 13.2

MSR Pocket Rocket 3
    S.P. Ti Mini Solo Cookset 5.8
    Folding titanium spork 1

1.5L Nalgene Canteen 1.4
    Transparent 1L Nalgene 4.6
    MSR Hyperflow Microfilter 9.4
    Steripen Purifier 4

First Aid Kit 5
    Emergency/Survival gear 1.8
    S.T.S. 2L Drysack 0.6
    Compass 0.8
    Petzl E+Lite Headlamp 1.6
    Hand sanitizer 1.6
    MSR Packtowel 3

Colombia Omni Dry Rain Jacket 16
    TOTAL: 159.8

Gear worn or carried
    Columbia Silver Ridge Shirt 9.6
    TNF Paramont nylon pants 18
    Smartwool socks 4
    Vasque Wasatch GTX boots 64
    Victorinox multi- tool 8
    Wide brim hat 7

TOTALS Weight (lbs)
    Gear in Pack 9.9875
    Gear worn or carried 6.9125
    4 days of food, 1lb/day 4
    Water, 2L 4.41