Topic

PFAFF 330, Breaking needles ?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear PFAFF 330, Breaking needles ?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 59 total)
  • Author
    Michael Chudzinski

@oknowa

Hello Everyone,
    I have a PFAFF 330 made in 1953. I am new to sewing and the machine is new to me. I was practicing with it,learned quite a bit. It was working fine,and then started breaking needles. The needle hits the bobbin housing. I adjusted two knobs while practicing,the zig-zag and the stitch length. Could that be causing the problem ? I will say the stitch length nob is kinda weird,feels a bit funky. Any help would be greatly appeciated. Thanks.

Joe Clement
    BPL Member

@skinewmexico

Locale: Southwest

Sounds like it is out of timing.

Michael Chudzinski

@oknowa

Thanks Joe,

I am guessing that is something I can not fix on my own. Need to have a pro fix it?

Ken Thompson
    BPL Member

@here

Locale: Right there

Double check that you have the needle inserted properly. Are you using a new needle?

Roger Caffin
    BPL Member

@rcaffin

Locale: Wollemi & Kosciusko NPs, Europe

> Sounds like it is out of timing.
    Even if it is, the needle should not hit the bobbin housing. Something is seriously out of position.

Photos needed.

Cheers

Joe Kuster
    BPL Member

@slacklinejoe

Locale: Flatirons

On top of the suggestions by the others, are you 100% sure that you are using the correct needle and that it is placed as deep as it needs to be? The grooved side of the needle goes to the side with the thread.

I'm not familiar with the old 330 but it is very possible that it uses a different sized needle than the standard singers you'll find at the store.