Topic

Best fuels for alcohol stoves

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Best fuels for alcohol stoves

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 66 total)
  • Author
    Ethan A.
    BPL Member

@mountainwalker

Locale: SF Bay Area & New England

Tinny of MiniBullDesigns recommended, in this order:

1) airbrake antifreeze from a truck stop
    2) next HEET in the YELLOW bottle from wal-mart
    3) last denatured alcohol from any paint store

He said that the anti-freeze and HEET are about equal. What do you all use?

I'm new to alcohol stoves. The weight and convenience are amazing, though I'd still take a winter gas stove in very cold weather.

For the air brake anti-freeze, would this do? http://www.amazon.com/Brake-System-Anti-Freeze-Guard-quart/dp/B000ABGB2A

I just picked up a powerful little alcohol stove from Tinny that supposedly can boil a pint in 4.5 minutes – impressive, especially for a stove that weighs about (or less than) an ounce.

Tommy Clapp

@tcxjwagoneer

Locale: GSM Area

Tinny's stoves are great. I know people give him mixed reviews on here, but I have used an Atomic stove from him over a year with no problem. I just recently purchased his black fly and can't wait to see it get going.

as for your question… use the Heet. it is cheap and easy to find.

Tommy

Tony Beasley
    BPL Member

@tbeasley

Locale: Pigeon House Mt from the Castle

Warning

"Tinny of MiniBullDesigns recommended, in this order:

1) airbrake antifreeze from a truck stop
    2) next HEET in the YELLOW bottle from wal-mart
    3) last denatured alcohol from any paint store "

Airbrake anti freeze and HEET yellow bottle are both 99-100% Methanol Alcohol. Methanol is highly toxic and should not be used in stoves.

I fail to see how methanol can be a better fuel that Denatured Alcohol as Methanol only has about 75% of the heat energy than Denatured Alcohol has.