Topic

what would a 10 # base weight look for a winter trip?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Winter Hiking what would a 10 # base weight look for a winter trip?

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 80 total)
  • Author
    Mike M
    BPL Member

@mtwarden

Locale: Montana

my parred down gear for a 3 day trip for winter (prepared for 0-ish weather) is closer to 15# than 10#, I can get closer to 10 by using a snow trench and only bringing a tarp and bivy, but I'm still a ways from 10#

anyone have a kit that light? unrealistic? I'm happy w/ my kit, but there seems like there is always a little room for improvement

there are a few items I don't think I can get much lighter:
    my shovel is about as light as I can get (BCA B1 @ 1.1 #), I've dug too many shelters to even consider a claw or the like, so nothing much to trim there
    I have a 0 degree quilt that weighs just under 2 #, not going to get too much lighter
    I use a TR XTherm regular @ 14 oz, to get an equivalent R value in a ccf pad would definitely be more weight

pack, shelter, clothing carried, cook & water and essentials quickly shoot me past the 10# mark

David Gardner
    BPL Member

@gearmaker

Locale: Northern California

15# for winter camping is pretty darn good. Can you post your gear list here or on a companion thread so we can see what might be pared down? I personally would not be willing to forgo a tent in winter for a snow trench, tarp and bivvy, just to get down to 10#. How much does your current tent weigh? Are you willing to spend money to get lighter gear?

Roger Caffin
    BPL Member

@rcaffin

Locale: Wollemi & Kosciusko NPs, Europe

Perhaps a bit too thin – if you value your life more than the brownie points.

Cheers

David Thomas
    BPL Member

@davidinkenai

Locale: North Woods. Far North.