Topic

What material is ideal for poncho?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear What material is ideal for poncho?

Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    mik matra
    BPL Member

@mikmik

Locale: Brisbane AUSTRALIA

Hi, I am new to MYOG to do with fabrics so have no clue as to what fabric is good for what use.

My plan is: I bought a rainponcho that also covers my pack that I know I can shave some weight off with a better choice of material. So what materials should I look for keeping in mind (obviously lol) that I am going for the lightest option that will do the job.

Thanks for your help

Jan Rezac
    BPL Member

@zkoumal

Locale: Prague, CZ

I had been recently also searching for a fabrics for a poncho – after the one I made from very light silnylon failed badly after just about a week of use. The silnylon was rated 1500 mm hydrostatic head and was waterproof when new.

RBTR’s silpoly PU400 seems to be the best fabrics available now – according to tests here at BPL (https://backpackinglight.com/forums/topic/105800/#comments) it stays fully waterproof after simulated wear cycle. I already have the fabrics and in my quick test it performed equally well – it stays waterproof after lots of crumpling and other abuse. I compared that to a quality silnylon which is perfectly waterproof when new or lightly used and it did not survive well.

Cuben would be more expensive alternative. Here, I’d go with the one with thicker mylar layers (the 1 oz version) which, according to the tests, also remains reasonably waterproof after some use.

mik matra
    BPL Member

@mikmik

Cheers!!

Aaron Sorensen
    BPL Member

@awsorensen

Locale: South of Forester Pass
    Ryan K
    BPL Member

@ryan-keane