Topic

What makes your pack your favorite and/or what does your dream pack look like?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear What makes your pack your favorite and/or what does your dream pack look like?

Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    William Ready
    BPL Member

@zreadyroamready-com

I am curious what UL Packs are considered personal favorites, why, and if you haven’t found/built your personal fav what would that pack look like? Also, if you are at the beginning of a MYOG/DIY Pack build do you need any help? -I would love to give back as much as I absorb here.

FYI: I am a boutique pack builder, and as a small(er) brand I am always looking for advice for future packs (or adjustments to current models).

Cheers, and thanks for your thoughts. -Z

Lester Moore
    BPL Member

@satori

Locale: Olympic Peninsula, WA

Favorite UL packs – it’s a short list as there are only three LW or UL packs that I’ve owned. Of three packs total, the MLD Burn (UL) and GG Gorilla (LW) are favorites, each filling a different need. However, here’s a list of a few favorite features that I find helpful and why:

• Side pockets with solid bottom and sides, and correctly angled top opening, and drawstring closure on top. Way easier than packing water inside or carrying water on shoulder straps IMHO. The solid bottom/sides protect side pockets while climbing over/under deadfall on the trail. The top opening with just the right amount of angle for good security of contents while also allowing bottle accessibility while hiking. GG gorilla does a good job with this. The draw string (like MLD Burn) is great for securing stuff like gear, but can be left loose for water bottles.