Topic

Trekking pole physics question: how do the # of sections effect durability?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Trekking pole physics question: how do the # of sections effect durability?

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Hanz B
    BPL Member

@tundra-thrasher-ouch-man-2

So I have an obscure question.  Recently I broke a Fizan trekking pole navigating over a large Fallen tree. I think I simply bent it against the trunk, but under the right conditions it just collapsed and broke in half right ontop of the press fit fastener. Massdrop is about to offer them again and since I like them so much  i’ll go ahead and buy them again.  They offer a 3 component and 4 component version.  Got me thinking, which would be least likely to break in the future assuming similar use.  Trouble is I don’t know exactly how the diameters are different but assuming most things equal between the two versions one would have there points of overlap the the other would have two. One may have either a smaller diameter for one section of the pole or a langer diameter, but this is unknown.

Anyone want to venture an educated guess on which would likely be more durable? And if comfortable, venture as to how it would compare to two section and non sectioned poles?

Fyi the version I broke was the 3 component version.

Matthew / BPL

@matthewkphx

Too many unknowns. Maybe email or call the manufacturer?

Lester Moore
    BPL Member

@satori

Locale: Olympic Peninsula, WA