Topic

Trail Shoes with Crampons?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Trail Shoes with Crampons?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Nicholas R
    Spectator

@ndylanray

Good afternoon.  I am new to Backpacking Light.  I have done a fair amount of wilderness hiking, and am planning to cross the Hardangervidda plateau (in Norway) next month.  There will likely be some fairly long stretches with snow, some of them potentially exposed to a dangerous fall, so I have a Petzl Ride ultralight ice axe (290 g roughly) and a pair of Petzl Leopard crampons.

In addition to hiking, I also trail run, on my own, and not at a competitive level.  But I was struck by the recommendation, repeated many times on this site, that it is beneficial to wear trail shoes for ultralight hiking.  I have fitted my Leopard crampons on my trail shoes (Sportiva Ultra Raptors), and they are sufficiently snug and stable.  The Hardangervidda is not likely to have seriously steep terrain except for very short sections.  Wearing trail running shoes in high alpine terrain strikes me as really stupid and dangerous.

I am curious if any of you have experience putting crampons on your trail shoes, and how this worked for you.  I am also curious if, when wearing trail running shoes, you simply accept to walk with wet feet, fording streams without changing footgear, or whether you have any solutions that manage to keep your feet dry.  My “normal” approach to this problem, up to now, is a pair of hiking boots, gaiters, and a pair of water shoes, so at each significant ford I switch footgear and cross, thus keeping my feet dry.  Switching to trail running shoes and accepting wet feet would save 800 g off my feet and around 900 g (water shoes + gaiters) off my pack weight.

Your opinions and advice are most welcome!

Nicholas