Topic

Trail runners noob here

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Trail runners noob here

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 39 total)
  • Author
    Chad M
    BPL Member

@exhausted

I just bought a pair of trail runners for the first time. I bought em to hike in (I don’t actually run).  I have ankle issues and will always use boots if I have any weight on my back.  But wanted a lighter shoe for day hiking.

It can be pretty cold where I live for 5 or more months.

I wore these trail runners around town today for maybe 2 miles or so. They are very comfortable but i noticed immediately that my feet were getting cold just from the wind due to the lightweight top fabric on the shoes.  I would imagine that after getting wet on the trail, the cold could possibly be to much to deal with on a windy day. What am I missing?  Just need to move faster?  I suppose that’s why they call them trail “runners”.  Any suggestions?  Thanks.

Justin Baker
    BPL Member

@justin_baker

Locale: Santa Rosa, CA

How cold was it? Where do you live?

Chad M
    BPL Member

@exhausted

In the North East US. Was very mild here today. Only maybe uper 50sF. But that is just kicking around town. Out for a good days hiking in higher elevations it will be much colder and wet and windy.

Justin Baker
    BPL Member

@justin_baker

Locale: Santa Rosa, CA

Interesting that your feet got cold. I have been ok with soaking wet feet, super thin socks, mesh shoes, in temps near freezing if I was moving and exerting myself. When I start to encounter snow or I am constantly stepping in freezing puddles, then my feet get very cold. If I stop moving, my wet feet get cold quickly. If my core body is cold at all, my hands and feet get really cold even if the air temps are not that low.