Topic

TKR Time

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    George F
    BPL Member

@gfraizer13

Locale: Wasatch

Pause

George F
    BPL Member

@gfraizer13

Tomorrow is the day I go in for knee replacement, the right one first and then the left in four weeks. This is going to make for a lot of down time in one chunk but then they are done. I am apprehensive as I get ready to head to the hospital. While I know this is going to hurt and the recovery will take time and effort on my part it is really the inactivity that has me worried. I work as a utility locator (the paint stripes on the ground showing where lines are buried), a job where I am not only outside moving all day but hustling to get through my work. 8 weeks or so of hanging around the house, reading, doing PT and working on short walks is going to get old very quickly. And when I do go back to work it will be in the office, training and helping with other tasks, another big transition after working outside for 18 years. And honestly I am worried about weight gain. I’ve always been active enough that I didn’t have to watch my diet/snacking too closely, that is going to change as well.

I will try to do some posts as I go through milestones in recovery but I’ve no intention into turning this into a blog. There is no question of whether it is worth it, they need to be done, but I would like to hear from anybody who has had TKR. What was your recovery timeline like? Where are you at now? What side issues did you go through? Thanks.

Matthew / BPL

@matthewkphx

A good friend of mine had a TKR and then hiked to Havasupai about 10 weeks later. His pace was slower on that trip but he did great. We go to the same PT and he was in there working hard 3x/week.

Good luck and heal fast. Have fun at the torture sessions (PT) afterwords.

BlackHatGuy
    Spectator

@sleeping