Topic

THINKING OF PCT SOUTHERN SECTION IN APRIL OR MAY 2021

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion THINKING OF PCT SOUTHERN SECTION IN APRIL OR MAY 2021

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Keith Fultz
    BPL Member

@in4life6

Locale: Central Valley, CA

Looking for insights and suggestions.  I hope to retire at the end of March 2021.   I am contemplating section hiking the southern section of the PCT   I live within and hour of the PCT where it crosses HWY 58 and 178.  Transportation is no issue.   I am wondering about permits and fires and I know that there is a 50 mile section closed up in San Bernadino mountains.   I am not a novice.  I have hiked the JMT and multiple hikes around Whitney (sumitted 23 times) ( I like the fishing in that area).   Any experienced folks know the feasibility and suggestions?

Ken Thompson
    BPL Member

@here

Locale: Right there

Ask the fine folks at the PCTA

https://www.pcta.org

They will know

Michael Haubert
    BPL Member

@socalmike

Locale: So Cal

I agree.  PCTA is a great resource, including info about permits and water, which is tricky in this area.

I highly recommend a book by Shawnte Salabert called Hiking the Pacific Crest Trail: Southern California, Section hiking from Campo to Tuolumne Meadows.  I have hiked much of the PCT in the area and it’s great, especially in the San Jacinto Wilderness.  The tricky part is planning your water supplies and being prepared for the extremes you will hit, which will vary between desert heat and high altitude in the mountains, which will likely have snow when you pass through.  You should be able to plan resupplies (at least) in Idyllwild and Warner Springs with their post office locations.  I’ve never had to do that, so I’m not an expert on that sort of data.