Topic

Tarptent Rainbow vs. Mytrail Co. UL2

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Tarptent Rainbow vs. Mytrail Co. UL2

Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Christopher Gilmore
    BPL Member

@chrisjgilmore

Locale: Eureka

Folks,

I’m looking for a solo tent that will also allow me to take my Malinois with me on backcountry excursions. These are the two I am currently considering. I prefer to be able to sit up in my tent in the morning and to have plenty of head room.

Pros & Cons?

Thanks

CG

Michelle B
    BPL Member

@mbracht

I’m sorry, I probably shouldn’t answer this post since I have no experience with either tent. The fact that you hike with a malinois  caught my attention though. I also hike with the Malinois  and I’ve had great luck with my Nemo hornet two person tent. It is  just under two pounds and plenty big for my dog and myself. There are two vestibules. So far it has been very rugged and easy to put out even in windy conditions.  I have had no problems with leaks or condensation buildup. Good luck hiking with your pup!

Jennifer Mitol
    Spectator

@jenmitol

Locale: In my dreams....

we need LOTS more information:

where will you be hiking?

what seasons?

what is your weight requirements?

single wall vs double wall?

do you care about front vs side entry?

will the dog be in the tent with you, or do you want him to be in the vestibule?

how many vestibules do you want?

do you use trekking poles or want a tent with dedicated poles?

Christopher Gilmore
    BPL Member

@chrisjgilmore

We need LOTS more information:

Where will you be hiking? Mostly Ca, Or, Wa and maybe Tx.

What seasons? Shoulder and Summer mostly mild conditions.

What is your weight requirements? light as possible bu i have used a Bivy in the past and it’s too confining these days.