Topic

Sewing through foam for shoulder straps

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Sewing through foam for shoulder straps

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Myles S
    BPL Member

@trees

I’m new to sewing and I’m working on prototyping a simple frameless pack. I’ve started construction of various elements of the pack, and I’d like to nail down the construction method of the more complicated parts before I go ahead and make a full prototype. I’m using a Singer 301 that I bought used on Craigslist and cleaned, greased and oiled. Thread is Gutermann Mara 70 with a size 90/14 universal needle.

I’ve spent the most time (and had the most trouble) with the shoulder straps. The materials I’m using for the straps are 400d packcloth, 3/8” mini cell foam from Quest, and 4mm 3D spacer mesh. I’ve also tried sandwiching the foam between 70d coated ripstop nylon. To make the straps, I’ve been sewing together the right sides of the mesh and packcloth (or 2 layers of ripstop) to make a sleeve, inverting it, and then stuffing it with foam. I’d like to sew through all the layers of the strap in order to (1) attach webbing for the ladderloc at the bottom of the strap and for a sternum strap, and (2) secure the foam in the sleeve so it doesn’t roll around. So far I’ve been unable to successfully sew through all these layers.