Topic

REI Air Hammock – Seeking Comments & Opinions

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Hammock Camping REI Air Hammock – Seeking Comments & Opinions

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Don H
    BPL Member

@donh-1

Locale: Midwest

Hi everyone.  I’m new to relatively new to backpacking, BPL, and hammock camping.  I recently purchased a REI Quarter Dome Air Hammock which I used during a Boundary Waters trip in July.  Overall I like the product but see some areas for improvement which I want to pass to REI.  Rather than just send one guy’s thoughts, I thought it would be more effective to collect the opinions of you smart BPL folks and pass a collective assessment (no names of course, just facts).   Here’s what I think, please pile on your thoughts and I’ll consolidate.  Haven’t found any posts like this on any site I’ve checked.

Also, if this is not an appropriate use of BPL please let me know … that would be a newbie error!  Thanks, Don
    Disclaimer:  I don’t work for REI but am a part of their (large) REI Advisors network because I like the company.  REI did NOT ask me to do this … I just like the hammock and want to see it improved.

OVERALL.  Good hammock, well constructed, good price point.  Good comfort, average weight for a bridge hammock, easy to use suspension.  Limited storage and small fly.  Permanently fixed spreader bars a con.

PROS

• <span style=”text-decoration: underline;”>Comfort</span>.  Nearly flat lie with decent width.  No shoulder squeeze for me (I’m 5’9″ average build) and I was able to side sleep.  Fetal position sleepers would have a problem but I don’t know many hammocks that allow for that position.