Topic

Quilt Advice

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Vincent V
    BPL Member

@vincentv

Locale: Nashville,TN

Hello everybody!

I am looking at getting my first quilt. I will mainly be using this quilt for fastpacking here in the southeast in the fall, winter, and spring. Right now I have a 40 degree down bag that weighs 1.9 lbs so I am definitely looking to shed some weight.

Here are my questions:

1. I was looking at enlightened equipment but on my first post on BL I got a lot of feedback to go with synthetic. why is this? I have always preferred down.
    2. If I go with a down bag from EE should I go with 10 or 20D? or the hybrid option? I was leaning towards the 10D to save weight as right now I am calculating the weight at 16.26 for the 10D and 17.91 for the 20D.  17.26 for the hybrid 10/20D

Preferably I would like to have one 20 degree bag and one 40 degree bag but I need to start off with one, I was leaning towards getting a 20 degree but I’m open to opinions on that as well.

thanks!

Lester Moore
    BPL Member

@satori

Locale: Olympic Peninsula, WA

Hi Vincent. Can’t go wrong with an EE quilt for a good mix of quality, function and affordability IMHO. Much of your quilt decision rests on the following nighttime warmth and moisture management factors:

1. What will your shelter be? A small tarp, shaped tarp, bathtub floor or not, full blown double wall tent, etc?
    2. What length trips do you take? One or two night trips give you a pretty good idea of weather temps and precipitation for your trip.
    3. Do you sleep warm, cold or “normal”?

Down is fine IMHO in all but the worst moisture conditions (prolonged fog and condensation for example). If weight is important to you, and if you’re willing to take a few simple but necessary precautions, then down is hard to beat.