Topic

Predicting Temperature at Altitude

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Predicting Temperature at Altitude

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    DriCamp
    BPL Member

@dricamp-2

Locale: California & Arizona Desert

Hello, I’m new to BPL. I recently planned a dayhike to the summit of Mt San Jacinto, noted that the nearby city of Idyllwild (around 5K feet) was predicted to have a noon temp of 58F the next day, so did two calculations for temp at the peak, which is under 11K ft. I expected to peak around noon. Used multipliers of 3.6F per 1000 ft (enviro lapse rate) and 5.4F (dry adiabatic lapse rate) which estimated 36F to 26F at the peak.

That’s cold for So Cal, so I packed a fleece, a down vest, and a watch cap–all of which sat in my pack as ballast all day long! I hiked all day comfortably in a LS tee and a wind jacket. Took a thermometer with me, and at the peak it read 60F in shade.

Not only were my calcs off, they caused me to heavy up my daypack! What am I overlooking with my prediction?

The day started with ascent through misty cloud, had rained the night before. Was shaded and moist to the peak, at which point the high clouds moved off and the sun was shining brightly onto low clouds below. Windy at the top, but nowhere near the freezing temps I’d calculated.

How can I make a better prediction next time? And not carry so much warm gear if it’s not needed?

I read https://backpackinglight.com/forums/topic/25964/ but didn’t post there because I don’t know BPL norms for resurrecting threads.

DriCamp
    BPL Member

@dricamp-2

And while the question is hanging, I’ll add this: I’m using “Saturated Adiabatic Lapse Rate” of 2.7F if raining, “Environmental Lapse Rate” of 3.6F if cloudy, and “Dry Adiabatic Lapse Rate” of 5.4F if clear and sunny. Does that sound right?