Topic

Newb question about Isobutane

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Newb question about Isobutane

Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Chris T
    BPL Member

@chrisinnyc

Hey there, I’m pretty new at this. I started backpacking in late April and I am taking my 4th overnighter (2 day) this weekend. So I guess that means I’ve been out 6 days so far, so 6 hot meals plus morning coffee. How do I know when my Isobutane canister is empty? If I wanted to weigh it, how much does the fuel itself vs the canister weigh? Like if I weigh it and its 3.5 oz instead of 4 does that make it say half full or nearly empty?

Sorry if this seems like a ridiculously basic question. I’ve googled and most people keep track of cook time. Because of my addiction to instant coffee in the morning, I really haven’t. Any ideas?

Matthew / BPL

@matthewkphx

Some weights listed in this thread.

Jerry Adams
    BPL Member

@retiredjerry

Locale: Oregon and Washington

“8 oz” canisters weigh about 5 ounces empty

“4 oz” canisters weigh about 3 ounces

It varies a little by brand and maybe every few years the same brand can change a little.  When you run a canister empty you can weigh it and be more accurate

If a “4 oz” container weighs 7 oz it’s full.  5 oz – half full.  etc.

The last 1 ounce of a canister gets hard to empty, the stove starts running very slowly.  You might consider a canister with only 1 ounce, or 1/2 ounce “empty” because it’s so slow

sorry, I can’t think of anything clever to say in response to your question about it being a ridiculously basic question : )

Jerry Adams
    BPL Member

@retiredjerry

Matthew’s post is a bit dated.  Canisters have come down a bit in weight since then.  To save manufacturing cost, not as a service to ultralight backpackers : )

Matthew / BPL

@matthewkphx