Topic

NEOAIR XLITE MAX SV – Searching for a Wide and Light Sleeping Pad/Mat…

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) NEOAIR XLITE MAX SV – Searching for a Wide and Light Sleeping Pad/Mat…

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 60 total)
  • Author
    David K.
    BPL Member

@dkny2la

Locale: Los Angeles

Searching for a Wide and Light Sleeping Pad/Mat.  At least 25″ wide as I’m on the larger side (6’2″, 190lbs).  At the top of my list is the new NEOAIR XLITE MAX SV in the Long size.  Anyone have any experience with this mat yet?

Caledonia Heather
    BPL Member

@heatherfeather

I bought one of the regular sized neoair sv’s and used it for a couple nights of camping in Joshua tree national park. It was very comfortable, and once you get the hang of it inflation is quite a bit easier than the original neoairs. My major issue was that getting a proper seal on the neck of the inflation collar was rather tricky. Of the two nights we were out, I got a good seal after waking up a couple times to re-roll the first night. The second night I never got a good seal and had to reinflate about 4 times. It might just be something you have to get the proper technique for, but I decided it was not worth the hassle and took it back to Rei as soon as that trip was over.

David K.
    BPL Member

@dkny2la

Hmm – that’s not what I want to hear.  :(   Seems pretty straight forward, just like a typical dry bag with a roll top closure.  If it works for water, I’d think it would work for air too.  Did you roll it over 7 times like Thermarest says too?

Anyone else having this issue or have any insight why the seal might be leaking?

Caledonia Heather
    BPL Member

@heatherfeather