Topic

Need another set of eyes, please!

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Need another set of eyes, please!

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 27 total)
  • Author
    Amber
    BPL Member

@amberg

Sorry, in advance, for the long-winded post (I’m seeking help for it). I’m planning to hike the Ozark Highlands Trail near the end of February. I hiked the Ouachita Trail in October, and I live in Little Rock, so I’ve got plenty of knowledge about the area. What I don’t have is as much expertise and experience as many of you. I’m not blowing smoke – I’ve only been backpacking for a year and a half, all solo. So everything I know, basically, is from research or by learning the hard way. I’ve got most of my gear list decided (pending your judgment), and I’d be grateful for your opinions.

A major obstacle is that I’m broke, so I’m pretty much limited to cheap replacements, leaving things behind, or swapping items out for things I own already. The only item in my Big 3 that I bought is my pack – not UL, but extremely, supremely comfortable. Quite a bit of the list are things I’ve made myself, which should be noted in their descriptions.

https://www.lighterpack.com/r/if0dgf

A couple explanations for my choices…the pack is all I have, besides one of equivalent volume that’s never touching my shoulders again (strictly a loaner). So, it stays. Lows could be in the mid to upper 20’s, which my canister stove doesn’t like. I realize that with some fiddling, it will work, but I’ve been experimenting with alcohol this winter, and that’s what I’ve decided to bring. The only variables are the system, itself, which I’m still working on, and it will be homemade.