Topic

MYOG Stretch Quilt

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear MYOG Stretch Quilt

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Sarah Pigeon
    BPL Member

@littlebugshoe

Has anyone tried making a stretch quilt… similar to the Montbell Super Stretch down hugger sleeping bags (https://www.montbell.us/products/disp.php?cat_id=14005&p_id=2321187)? I see that Gutermann sells elastic thread, but would that work on a static fabric like M50? Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. I am a beginner and have never made my own quilt before, but I have made a Thru-hiker.com Minima Vest. Thanks!

Ken Thompson
    BPL Member

@here

Locale: Right there

Unless you had this strapped tight to your pad would you realize any benefit from the stretch? I don’t think so.

Jerry Adams
    BPL Member

@retiredjerry

Locale: Oregon and Washington

elastic thread on non stretchy fabric like M50 would be no different than non elastic thread

elastic thread on something stretchy like a woven fabric would make a difference.

you can get a seam to be stretchy by using a zigzag stitch with non stretchy thread

R
    Spectator

@autox

Several manufacturers have offered stretch down bags for a number of years. It is possible and many people find some benefit in it.

Creating a stretch stitch in a woven fabric is possible (that’s how they make those bags) but may be difficult to diy.  You need a consistent way to either create many small pleates, or stretch the thread as you sew.  The pleates create the slack in the fabric necessary to elongate, or stretch. Alternatively, stretching the thread as you sew will then cause the fabric to bunch up slightly as it moves out from under the pressure foot, creating tiny pleates.