Topic

Location, location, location (to live)

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Location, location, location (to live)

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Dan Magdoff
    BPL Member

@highsierraguy

Locale: Northern California

Hey All!

Not sure if I am posting this is in the right section….but wanted to get some input from ya’ll.

I am planning on moving back to CA.  I really want to be in/ close to the Sierra Mountains or the foothills.  I am an ER nurse so my location needs to be near a hospital….trying to keep my commute to under 45min.  I have been looking at Grass Valley, Truckee, Auburn and Placerville.  More recently I have been looking at a hospital in Marysville near Yuba City.  I dont know much about Yuba City/ Marysville.  Wondering if anyone has any input or experience living there?  Whats the weather like?  Topagraphy? Is it more grassland and oaks, or pine trees?

THANKS!

Dan

Dan Magdoff
    BPL Member

@highsierraguy

SImilar to Chico?  Meh, ya not really what I was looking for.  I didnt think Grass Valley or Placerville got that hot in the summer.

Dan Magdoff
    BPL Member

@highsierraguy

I guess hot is all relative.  I am content with anything under 95-100, and am happy with a few days being a little over 100.

Ken Thompson
    BPL Member

@here

Locale: Right there

Joe Lynch
    BPL Member

@rushfan

There was a long thread about living in northern California not long ago. I have friends in Grass Valley,  Colfax,  Nevada City who are very happy. Another friend is in Truckee. It’s expensive but she loves her lifestyle. Another place I would consider is Coarsegold south of Yosemite.

I’m not a fan of Yuba City or Marysville but I would be happy in the foothills to the east.

I’m a real estate appraiser in the Sacramento area.  If I can be of help,  pm me.