Topic

lightweight belt

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) lightweight belt

Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • Author
    Paul S
    BPL Member

@pula58

Looking for a lightweight hiking-oriented belt for pants that don’t have a built-in belt. It needs to be thin in thickness so as not to irritate my hips when carrying a heavy pack. Any suggestions? A lot of hiking clothes have no belt and it’s hard to get the waist size to be exactly right..hence the need for a belt.

Thanks in advance!

Keith T
    BPL Member

@keith-t

Locale: Western Central Sierra

This same question was posted to r/ultralight yesterday. (Maybe it was you!) The most popular response was the Arcade belt. I have no personal experience with Arcade.

Dan
    BPL Member

@dan-s

Locale: Colorado

I just use a 1″ webbing strap. You can buy one or make it, cut it to your preferred length.

Terran Terran
    BPL Member

@terran

I have a Groove belt or Hilltop sells a cheap one.

David Thomas
    BPL Member

@davidinkenai

Locale: North Woods. Far North.

I’ve got lightweight nylon pants that came with, basically, 3/4″ bias tape and a 3/4″ Fastex Ladder Lock (the bit that lets you adjust the shoulder straps on a day pack).  Very very light.  And low profile.  If the Ladder Lock doesn’t grip that thin webbing well enough, you can take a file to the teeth and make them sharper and grippier.

Jon Fong / Flat Cat Gear
    BPL Member

@jonfong

Locale: FLAT CAT GEAR

Rather tahn a belt, you might consider getting your pants tailored for a perfect fit.  Less weight anyways.  My 2 cents.

JCH
    BPL Member

@pastyj-2-2

I bought these 3 years ago and they are the only belts I wear…work, hiking, everywhere. Low profile and stealthy.  Inexpensive as well.

andrew elmore
    BPL Member

@drewelmore