Topic

Lightweight Backpacking Course Advice

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Lightweight Backpacking Course Advice

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Carlos C
    Spectator

@ccort044

Hey guys!

I’m new here and was curious about the Backpaciking Course offered on the site. I’ve been backapking for a few years and was wondering if it was worth the $147.

Looking forward for your thoughts!

W I S N E R !
    Spectator

@xnomanx

I do not know anything about the course but I think you’ll find there are many good people on these forums that will be happy to answer any questions you have about gear, technique, etc.  And if not a direct answer, plenty that will point you to where certain things have already been covered extensively.  Welcome aboard; I’d start by asking things here….

Carlos C
    Spectator

@ccort044

Well if I was a beginner, my biggest question would be where to start. The internet is filled with advice, some good and some bad, and some conflicting, its very confusing. Also, we don’t know what we don’t know. I looked at several online  courses for friends, but they where very one dimensional (only navigation, only survival) never a complete “Guide to Backpacking Adventures”, like a one place stop. Is there such a thing?

David Thomas
    BPL Member

@davidinkenai

Locale: North Woods. Far North.

The Internet is definitely full of both good and bad advice.  I haven’t seen any errors or things I’d disagree with (and only a few things I differ in my own approach) from Dixie on the YouTube channel Homemade Wanderlust.  She does posts every week during her thru hikes (Appalachian Trail, Pacific Crest Trail, Continental Divide Trail) but also has introductory and instructional videos on many different topics.  Darwin on the Trail is another youtuber with a lot of good info.