Topic

How to (easily) build an handle for a reciprocating saw blade?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear How to (easily) build an handle for a reciprocating saw blade?

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Paiolo Montanel
    BPL Member

@paiolo

Hi all,

I’d like to create an UL wood saw buying a 6″-9″ reciprocating saw blade like the first or the second of this image:

…and then building an UL handle for it.
    I was thinking about making it from an aluminium bar (with some padding added over) or from a piece of wood, but any idea is welcome.
    It should be 45° to be confortable to use.
    As I’m not an expert on DIY, does anyone have some suggestions on the easiest way to build it?

Jordo _99
    BPL Member

@jordo_99

Locale: Nebraska

Being a woodworker, I’d probably go that route.

I’d make a cutout that matches the cutout of the blade attachment and then secure it with an alu or ti bolt/nut.

You’d probably end up with a lighter solution if you went with a titanium handle wrapped in paracord but may be difficult with play in the blade if you can’t figure out how to match the cutout of the blade.

James Marco
    BPL Member

@jamesdmarco

Locale: Finger Lakes

Well, you can purchase an extra blade clamp from Milwaukee, Ridgid, or the like. Generally, these are simply pressed steel, then highly tempered. The mount is the same size as on the blade and have a crew through it to secure the clamp to the shaft. It also has a pressed divot or pin that locks into the blade.