Topic

Hot Tent with a Caldera Cone

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Winter Hiking Hot Tent with a Caldera Cone

Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Atif Khan
    BPL Member

@atifethica-institute-2

Has anyone tried heating their mid with a Caldera Cone in wood burning mode? I have a Solomid XL and was wondering whether, with one door open and the cone sitting in the vestibule area on the open side, sufficient heat would radiate into the tent.

Duane Hall
    BPL Member

@pkh

Locale: Nova Scotia

I have a lot of experience with Caldera Cones in wood burning mode.  I cannot speak to the heating question you raise, but I know there is always considerable risk of sparks with these cones when burning wood, especially when adding fresh fuel. I would not take the chance.

DAN-Y/FANCEE FEEST
    Spectator

@zelph2

Atif K, I have burned wood in a large Caldera Cone but not in the wood mode, just in the upright cone mode. I made a stainless steel basket to support twigs in the verticle position and would light the stack from the top. Lighting from the top is the most efficient way to burn twigs. The cone prevents sparks from going outward. The same procedure is used for burning twigs in my Kelly Kettles.

DAN-Y/FANCEE FEEST
    Spectator

@zelph2

YouTube video

YouTube video

Eric Blumensaadt
    BPL Member

@danepacker

Locale: Mojave Desert

Have a titanium Caldera Cone (Sidewinder) and use it in the “gassifier” mode with the Inferno inverted cone insert and mesh bottom for wood burning to melt snow. The Inferno insert makes VERY hot, thus teh necessity for titanium.

Howsomever a “hot tent setup would need a “funnel” chimney and teh necessary tent wall insulator. I dunno If I’d want hoe sparks near my silnylon winter tent.