Topic

Help from Deschutes Users !

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Help from Deschutes Users !

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Joshua Felts
    BPL Member

@sourpatch2016

I have just received my Deschutes silnylon tarp. I am very new to the idea of a single wall shelter and just need some guidance with set up. Forgive me if I may sound like I am fairly clueless because odds are that I am. Anyhow I was wondering how to attach the front door/vestibule area to the guyline. I have seen video tutorials on attaching the doors to the guyline through a connecting clip, but my tarp it seems as if this guyline is sewing from the inside of the zipper making it impossible to attach the doors as wanted. I had a few more questions and was wondering if anyone with this same set up has got ride of certain stock aspects such as upgrading to better glowire type guyline/bungee loops to add for automatic tensioning overnight to prevent some of that “silnylon sag”. I would also enjoy if anyone had any pictures of these mods. I would like to also learn a few basic knots to tie out guline and stakes with but I am ok with using small hardwear tensioners for a faster care free type set up. Was also wondering if I could send the tarp back and get some more tie out points on the back panel of the tarp to increase interior space and possible flapping from the back side of the tent. Any answers are greatly appreciated !

Matthew / BPL

@matthewkphx

No need for shockcord tensioners in my opinion. I don’t find the tarp sags much.