Topic

Help! Backpacking with Anxiety

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Help! Backpacking with Anxiety

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 66 total)
  • Author
    David K
    BPL Member

@back2basix

TL:DR

I really need some advice from the community.  I’m preparing to take my girlfriend on her first backpacking trip.  It will be 3 days/2 nights in the Catskills of NY in temp ranges between 45-70 F.  She already has acquired comfortable and fairly lightweight gear so that’s not an issue.  However she is truly a city girl who has centered her life around comfort/convenience/fashion, suffers from anxiety and over planning, and has IBS.  I’ve been an outdoor instructor for most of my life, LNT instructor, guide, professional facilitator…and never dealt with anything this complicated.  I want to support her and ease her fears and help her have a good time, but my patience is stretched thin.  She is scared of not liking it and disappointing me and I’m scared she will hate it and I’ll be with a partner I can’t share this very important aspect of my life with.  So high pressure on both sides.  On the upside she does enjoy car camping.