Topic

Durability of NB Leadville and La Sportiva Ultra Raptor?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Durability of NB Leadville and La Sportiva Ultra Raptor?

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Amy Lauterbach
    BPL Member

@drongobird

Locale: San Francisco Bay Area

<div>Short version:  How many miles did your Leadvilles or Ultra Raptors last?</div>
    <div></div>
    <div>Long version:
    <div>I’ve been using Montrail Hardrock and Montrail AT Plus since 2008.  I bought 15 pairs in 2009 at closeout prices.  I’ve only got one pair left.  I’m searching for a new model that will work for me.</div>
    <div></div>
    <div>In addition to the things most people consider, I need a shoe that does not trap dry seeds.  Hiking in northern California in the summer involves wading through miles of tall dry grass, and the seeds relentlessly penetrate shoes if the weave of the upper is not tight enough.  In addition to a tight weave, the tongue needs to be fully attached to the upper or seeds get inside.  This requirement ruled out many of the models currently popular with long distance hikers like the Nike Wildhorse, Brooks Cascadia, Saucony Peregrine, and the Altra Lone Peak.</div>
    <div></div>
    <div>After much time in shoe stores and internet shopping I have found two models that fit me well and have what I hope is a tight enough weave (not as good as the Montrails, but better than most):  NB Leadville and La Sportiva Ultra Raptor.  I’ve spent the last week walking around town wearing one of each, and they are equally OK in terms of fit.</div>
    <div></div>