Topic

Backpacking Trip Recommendations for me and my Teen Son

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Trip Planning Backpacking Trip Recommendations for me and my Teen Son

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 26 total)
  • Author
    David M
    BPL Member

@cledmartin

Ok I’m new to BPL and frankly to the concept of really lightening my load – I’ve read a ton of posts and they’ve been super helpful.  Thanks all!

My 16 year-old son and I get to escape for a week this summer and he wants to do a big trip and really challenge himself.  He’s a Life Scout (on the way to Eagle) with plenty of camping experience and some backpacking experience.   He and I can both easily cover 10 miles in the East with a traditional 40-50 lb pack. We’re working on lightening that up significantly.

Looking for trip recommendations:

• 5-6 days that would challenge but not destroy us
    • ‘Out West’ – Maybe Colorado?  we want mountains and elevation, but unsure of the snow factor in June
    • Stay within a few hours of a larger airport to maximize hike time and minimize travel

thanks for the advice!

Matthew / BPL

@matthewkphx

Longer than you have specified but the JMT  was wonderful with my kid when they were 12.

DWR D
    BPL Member

@dwr-2

JMT is great, but… I think he said June… not sure if he is set on June, but with the snow we’re having this your June is VERY doubtful this year… think more like mid August this year…

Dan
    BPL Member

@dan-s

Locale: Colorado

June can be risky in the Colorado mountains. Some years yes, some years no. Certainly it would be hard to plan a specific destination in advance without knowing snowpack conditions across the state. You’d have to remain flexible and play it by ear. I always get into the mountains in June, but I often need to change my route on the fly. You will also have to consider water crossings carefully.