Topic

Backpack Seams MYOG VX21 (and VX42 – back and bottom)

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Backpack Seams MYOG VX21 (and VX42 – back and bottom)

Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    John M
    BPL Member

@litetrek

I am a novice at using a sewing machine although I’ve made a goose down jacket years ago when they were very expensive.  I’m making my own backpack and would like some suggestions on what would be the most successful seam for me to use to hold the bag together.  I will probably use grosgrain tape over the seam afterwards to neaten everything up.

My initial thought was just to lay the parts to be joined together and run a stitch line and then repeat it – two lines of stitches on each seam plus the tape, so three total.  It occurred to me that this might not be the best way to go, but it seems it would be the easiest to accomplish.

I really have no idea.  I’ve done some searching in this forum and the comments tend to be more advanced than my skill level so I don’t know or understand whats being discussed.

chris b
    BPL Member

@tx_beard

Go to REI/outdoor store and look at the seams of other backpacks. There are different seams for different purposes.

Lester Moore
    BPL Member

@satori

Locale: Olympic Peninsula, WA

There was a good thread a few days ago about ways to stitch the main seams of a backpack (it was DCF, but answers apply to other materials too). A simple double stitch plus tape seems like a popular and long lasting way to do it:

https://backpackinglight.com/forums/topic/stitch-newbie/

John M
    BPL Member

@litetrek

Lester,