Topic

Any users of Aarn universal balance bags?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Any users of Aarn universal balance bags?

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 151 total)
  • Author
    PaulW
    BPL Member

@peweg8

Locale: Western Colorado

For anyone who has used Aarn universal balance bags, can you tell me how much weight gets transferred to the front of your hip belt? I emailed Aarn and was told they felt that about 50% of the bag’s weight (bag + gear) was transferred to the hip belt, vs the majority of weight being transferred with the balance pockets that are custom made for their packs. I’d like to hear some first-hand experiences.
    Thanks for any advice.

Geoff Caplan
    BPL Member

@geoffcaplan

Locale: Lake District, Cumbria

I can’t speak to the universal pockets, but I’ve been using the Aarn Mountain Magic system for a few years now, and I’m a fan, though with some qualifications.

The balance pocket concept is brilliant. Load the front pockets correctly and you get virtually zero pressure on the shoulders and neck – the load is balanced equally between the front and back of the hip belt, with the shoulder straps merely holding the load in balance.

You are walking upright with a totally natural gait, with none of the forward lean required when carrying any kind of significant load in a conventional pack. If I’m carrying a multi-day load or walking long days I much prefer the Aarn system. I’ve walked for weeks on end with multi-day resupply with literally no pain in the shoulders, neck or back – not something I’ve ever experienced with any other pack. And because of your better posture there is significantly less fatigue after a long mountain day.