Topic

Advice on lessons for ski backpacking

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Winter Hiking Advice on lessons for ski backpacking

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 53 total)
  • Author
    Khris R
    BPL Member

@khrisrino

I started getting into winter backpacking this winter and have done a bunch already. There are a couple destinations I want to cover later this spring that are a bit too far for snowshoes so thinking of doing them on skis. Question is whether “cross country ski” lessons at a ski resort are any good for this or is it better to just go to a local hill and practice? I don’t plan to do anything extreme … it’s going to be locations accessed via forest roads so mostly low angle terrain. As background I’m an expert level snowboarder + had a one day ski lesson many years ago (I remember I was able to get down the green slopes). Thoughts?

PaulW
    BPL Member

@peweg8

Locale: Western Colorado

Lessons for sure. If you have any nearby outdoor shops like REI you might check what they offer.  Years ago I took some backccountry ski lessons through a local mountaineering shop and they proved invaluble. Something to keep in mind is that skiing with a backpack is very different than snoeshoeing with a backpack, so having some skiing skills under your belt is a good idea.

Dan
    BPL Member

@dan-s

Locale: Colorado

The range of gear available for what you are describing is a bit hard to cover in a single post and it will really depend on how steep the climbs are, whether you are breaking trail in deep snow, whether you want to learn telemark technique, etc. I think that your first decision will be what gear you need and it would probably be helpful to go to REI or something similar to see the different options.