Topic

A few Big SEKI Loop questions

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Trip Planning A few Big SEKI Loop questions

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Mike Bozman
    Spectator

@myarmisonfire

Locale: BC

So mid-August I am going to be riding my motorcycle 1700km from Victoria, BC to hike the Big SEKI Loop starting from Onion Valley.

Permit was secured months ago.  I have places to spend the night on the ride down.  I have secure parking at someone’s house and they even said they would drive me to the trailhead.  Base weight, not including bear canister, is around 10 pounds.  It is my first time using a bear canister and I managed to jam about 17700 calories in a BV450.  I will mail a resupply to Cedar Grove.  I picked up a prescription for acetazolamide because I live at sea level and it only cost $3.43.  I am hoping to somewhat acclimatize on the way down.  I’ll have a few night of camping over 9000 feet before the hike.

My questions are about water and overnight temperatures.  Seems like there will be lots of water in the mountains this year!  Will I be fine with only 2 litres of water capacity?  On the TRT last year I managed about 20 miles to the gallon of water.

Filter or Pristine/Aqua Mira tablets?  I have and have used both with no real preference.

What about overnight temperatures towards the end of August?  Is it safe to say that most night will be close to freezing?

Thanks in advance.

jscott
    BPL Member

@book

Locale: Northern California

“Filter or Pristine/Aqua Mira tablets?”

Steripen. The Sierra are perfect for this. Aqua mira or iodine tablets as a backup.

I always hike from water source to source to avoid carrying any water, if possible. And it mostly is. So two liters should work–but I also carry a big collapsible water bottle for camp, for about a three ounce penalty.