Topic

What do you wear on your legs during the day? (winter or summer)

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) What do you wear on your legs during the day? (winter or summer)

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Confused Newbie
    Spectator

@confused

Locale: Northern CO

I'm new to ultralight, and hoping to get more experience this year. I'm hoping you can give me some advice as to what you wear on your legs when outside, both in the winter and summer. I don't have much experience camping in colder weather, but my son has just joined Boy Scouts, and we're doing a lot of colder weather car camping. I'm hoping to buy gear that I can use for both car camping with the Scouts (which can mean a lot of time not active, or getting wet in the snow), and for backpacking. Also, my nylon pants are ripped, and my rain pants also are pretty destroyed, so I'm building my clothing from scratch.

I live in northern CO, and am looking for things suitable for the high country, where the temperature might drop 20-30 degrees in the summer, and many mornings will be frosty but the temps can be hot in the sun. Winter daytime temperatures can get to -10 to-20F during a cold spell.

I'd been wearing nylon pants that convert to shorts for summer hikes, and putting on rain pants when it gets cold or rainy.

For winter hikes, I've been wearing snowpants, but just for snowshoeing day hikes. These are rather bulky and not terribly waterproof.

So, please tell me what you like to bring for your legs! Thanks.

Jake D
    BPL Member

@jakedatc

Locale: Bristol,RI

3 season- REI convertible pants. almost never bring rain pants. easy to start and end the day when it is cooler. unzip bottoms and toss in a side pocket.