Topic

First time on the JMT

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists First time on the JMT

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 26 total)
  • Author
    Garett Pearce
    Spectator

@gpearce

Hey everyone,

This will be my first time hiking the JMT and I'm also brand new to the UL community so recentely I've been trying to make that transistion.

Trip Details:
    2 people, late August/early Septemeber, South Bound

Here is my current set-up with highlighted items in yellow being items that I have yet to purchase or items that I am thinking about purchasing (need a few more paychecks to get everything bought). Please feel free to offer as much feed back or suggestions as possible. One of my largest areas of needs is a tent. Looking for a 2 person tent that is lighter then my BA Coppper Spur so critique away. Wanting a tent and not a tarp (haven't made that transition yet but convince me other wise :))

Side Note: On some of my est I tried to estimate high (sawyer filter, etc) just to play it safe

Totals
    Pack-41.1
    Sleep-57.65
    Tent-78.76/split by 2 people: 40 oz
    Clothes-47.27
    Water-13.98
    Stove-18.4
    Misc-54.17
    Toiletries/Hygiene-5 oz
    Technology-10 oz

Base Weight-287 oz or 17.9 lbs
    With EE 272.5 oz or 17.00 lbs

Worn:
    Northface Paramount Peak Conv Pants
    SS Smart Wool shirt
    Darn Tough Socks
    Salomon XA Pro 3D Ultra 2
    Sunglasses-
    Hat-
    Sunnto Core
    Knife

Pack
    ULA Circuit- 40 oz
    ULA Pack Cover- 1.1 oz or trash compactor bag, thoughts?
    Total: 41.1

Shelter/Sleeping
    Neo Air Xlite-16.15
    Exped Air Pillow Large: 3.4
    Marmot Helium- 38
    EE Engima 750-23.5 Possibly buying
    Total: 57.65 (or 43.15 with EE)

Tent
    Big Agnes Copper UL 3-78.76
    Please help this makes me cry just thinking about a 5 lbs tent
    Total: 78.76 (split between 2)