Topic

SMD Lunar Duo – Explorer vs.TT StratoSpire 2

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) SMD Lunar Duo – Explorer vs.TT StratoSpire 2

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Kenneth Jacobs
    BPL Member

@f8less

Locale: Midwest -or- Rockies

SMD Lunar Duo Explorer vs.TT StratoSpire 2

Which would you pick as the your choice for a two person shelter? Any other better options? Trying to determine which is a more convenient design, easily adjustable, easy setup and has more usable space.

TIA

KJ

Ken Thompson
    BPL Member

@here

Locale: Right there

Do you want a single wall or a double wall shelter? Kind of an apples and oranges comparison.

Kenneth Jacobs
    BPL Member

@f8less

Either would be fine. I have plenty of experience with both. My focus is more on space, ease of use, and weight.

HTH

KJ

Derek M.
    BPL Member

@dmusashe

Locale: Southern California

If you don't use trekking poles, I'd recommend the TarpTent Double Rainbow. It's a very well designed tent and is a breeze to set up.

When people compare the Double Rainbow and the SMD Lunar Duo (as they are wont to do), they usually focus on the fact that the Lunar Duo has more interior space (which is most certainly true), but the flipside of this is that the Double Rainbow has a smaller footprint and a much lower profile (especially when setup on clear nights without the vestibules stakes out– something that's hard to do with the Lunar Duo). This smaller profile can be really handy if you are camping in heavily wooded areas.

To see the difference in size between the two tents, check out this excellent comparison here:
    http://hikeitlikeit.com/2011/tale-of-three-duos/

I own the Double Rainbow and really like it, but the Lunar Duo seems to be an excellent tent as well. Hard to go wrong with any of the tents you are considering…