Topic

TGO Challenge 2013 – Crossing Scotland from the Atlantic to the North Sea

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Member Trip Reports TGO Challenge 2013 – Crossing Scotland from the Atlantic to the North Sea

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 35 total)
  • Author
    Manfred
    BPL Member

@orienteering

A quarter century ago I studied in Edinburgh – Computer Science & Artificial Intelligence. To compensate for the nerd inside I joined the Edinburgh University Orienteering Club and participated in a lot of orienteering events all across Scotland. I still hold fond memories of that time. Last year I read a trip report about the TGO Challenge – an annual event with roughly 300 participants who cross Scotland on foot from the Atlantic to the North Sea. Wow, that sounded like a lot of fun, so I sent out an application and started right away thinking about a route. While I waited for the confirmation that I would be accepted into the challenge, I drew up a route across the Scottish Highlands that avoided asphalt roads almost altogether. My route was almost 240 miles long and would ascend and descend around 45,000 ft with endless miles through boggy moors, many creek crossing and over a dozen Munro ascents. Munro is a class of peaks that are over 3,000 ft high. That might not sound a lot for people who hike here in California in the High Sierra, but going from sea level to 3,000 ft in Scotland is about the same as a Sierra climb between 9,000 to 12,000 ft.