Topic

How to Get a Good Seal on Alcohol Fuel Bottles

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) How to Get a Good Seal on Alcohol Fuel Bottles

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Marko Botsaris
    BPL Member

@millonas

Locale: Santa Cruz Mountains, CA

After a decade or more of using mostly canister stoves, I have been messing around with switching to alcohol, so I'm still a bit of a noob in this area. I pretty much have my new stove system pegged now except for one last detail – seemingly the most trivial one – the fuel bottle. I bought a couple of Packafeather caps, the ones with the flip-top opening, a piece of tubing and a gasket. The gasket solves the issue of leaks from the outer screw seal provided contact is made, and I have had no problems sanding down the ends of particular bottles that are a bit too long. The tube also works fine for me in both output and input mode provided the bottle can be squeezed.