Topic

Often-overlooked shelter makers (and models)

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Often-overlooked shelter makers (and models)

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Steve K
    BPL Member

@skomae

Locale: northeastern US

I've been looking at trying something new, probably a shaped tarp or a tarp-tent and I'm wondering if I'm missing any awesome options. I have a lot of experience using a flat tarp, hammock and traditional tents but I'm looking to try something new for next year. I'm also looking for a new flat tarp, because mine is heavy.

I don't want to spend a whole lot of money but I'm willing to if something really cool comes up. Bonus points if the shelter can hold more than one.

So far I've looked at (but haven't necessarily ruled out):

Black Diamond
    GoLite
    Granite Gear
    LightHeart Gear
    Mountain Laurel Designs
    MSR
    Nemo
    Oware
    Six Moon Designs
    Tarptent
    Zpacks

michael levi

@m-l

Locale: W-Never Eat Soggy (W)affles

I'd just like to throw this out there, Zpacks has been a pleasure to deal with.

If you are looking for coverage for two people, the solo-plus with taped seams and guylines weigh in at 5.1 ounces. Cost is comparable to some silnylon at $215. Best of all it sets up with one trekking pole.

I am currently looking for something along these lines, however i'd like a seperate innernet. I have been looking into BearPawWD for this, I like the options for sizing (1, 1.5 and 2 person) What is also intresting is the ability to add side walls (cuben or 10D) to help block wind and weather.

David Chenault
    BPL Member

@davec

Locale: Queen City, MT

Yama Mountain Gear deserves more play on this forum.

Jay Wilkerson
    BPL Member

@creachen

Locale: East Bay