Topic

another 2013 PCT gear list – lots of experience, zero long distance hiking experience

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists another 2013 PCT gear list – lots of experience, zero long distance hiking experience

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 31 total)
  • Author
    Joe Guilmette

@loltron

https://docs.google.com/open?id=0B4N0FX67Xp1wS0hDcTdqTTBZOG8

hey there! i'm by no means an ultralight hiker, so I figured it would be good to get feedback from you all.

i have a lot of experience on multi-day trips, have spent two months of horseback in Mongolia on the Russian border, a couple weeks here and there in the Brazilian jungle, and in addition have over a year of minimalist overseas travel-style backpacking.

so while I may not have much experience in thru-hiking, i haven't done something even as long as the JMT, i know what it is to live out of a backpack for many, many months at a time. the PCT is somethings I've always wanted to do and I feel like 2013 is the year its going to happen, the timing is just perfect for me.

i'm going to be going with my girlfriend, who has a similar level of experience. the attached gear list is assuming a solo attempt. when i get it dialed in we'll split some of the shared gear.

right now i have this down to 19lbs (13lbs in the pack, 6lbs worn). obviously there is quite a lot of fat to cut, so be ruthless :) i'm not married to the gear, so much as the function.