Topic

New Cameras!

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) New Cameras!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 56 total)
  • Author
    Nick G

@hermesul

Nikon has just announced a couple new cameras that look highly of interest to me in terms of backpacking light.

I've stopped using a camera until I can get one that's worth the weight. My cell phone camera is poor quality, but its what I'm using.

Firstly, the ultralight camera: Coolpix S01
    http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/coolpix/style/s01/spec.htm

A super cool 96g/3.4 oz compact camera that looks to be pretty good quality in terms of pictures (although I'm not an expert). Cost is supposed to be about $180.

Secondly, a camera with wifi and GPS:
    http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/coolpix/style/s800c/

For $350 and 184g/6.5 oz, this one weighs twice as much and costs twice as much. Where it might save you weight comes in terms of the fact that it has GPS included, and wifi (if you're near a hotspot).

I've got no idea how these compare to a smartphone or whatever alternatives are otherwise out there–but I know that I'm interested in buying an inexpensive device that will do better than my phone.

What do you guys use?

Devon Cloud

@devoncloud

Locale: Southwest

Call me a picture snob, but I take my DSLR camera with me despite the weight issue. I guess I just figure that while I am going to some of the most gorgeous areas left on our planet, I don't want to skimp on the quality of the pics or my options while taking said pics.